Vodka, de-cluttering and smiling at strangers

My joy has taken a turn for the alcoholic. Friday night we had friends over and the vodka flowed like a pure mountain stream in early spring. It was a fun night.

Yesterday, perhaps in penance, I spent hours cleaning out my children’s closets, toy bins and the three hundred purses they have acquired over the years and stuffed with a mind-boggling array of crap. Here are just a few things a young lady must have in her purse: a price tag for an article of clothing, a rock, a 2-inch piece of red yarn, used gum, a bottle cap, and a pedometer.

The cleaning process was not at all fun. The joyful part was looking at 8 bags of clothing and toys plus one huge box of books that will collect dust somewhere else from now on. I feel like I’ve lost weight!

For today’s joy jolt, I plan to smile at (while meeting the eye of) at least 25 strangers. Too often, I look away out of shyness or the general disconnectedness of  hyper-connectivity I keep reading about on the Interwebs.

No more! At least for today.

This entry was posted in Bring on the joy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Vodka, de-cluttering and smiling at strangers

  1. gojulesgo says:

    So, something tells me YOUR purse is going to need cleaning after today – it’ll be filled with telephone numbers! 😉

  2. I have all but the used gum in my purse. Working on rectifying that as we speak.

  3. Muff says:

    So, with the whole smiling at strangers thing…make sure it is the kind of smile that doesn’t make them think it’s your day off from the funny farm. At times, it can be kind of off-putting to have some stranger smile oddly at you, ya know? Maybe a follow up with a “hello” or “nice day, isn’t it?” may bring the warmth. While your particular smile is quite great (reminder note: Dory has in the past had a modeling career…), make sure the situation matches the effort. For example, a bubbly smile at a funeral is just plain odd. Or, if you were to visit a strip club, you might get misinterpreted. It’s all in the context…

  4. =) I’m a big fan of decluttering and smiling at strangers. The vodka, though? We had a relationship a long time ago, and it just didn’t work out. I left him for rum.

  5. notquiteold says:

    My old purses always seem to have an old lipstick. If I loved that lipstick enough to carry it with me, why did I forget it in an old purse? I’m such a heartless Jezebel.

  6. Dimples would have to have Bath and Body Works hand sanitizer in her purse and some money. That’s about all she requires – for now.

  7. If there is one thing I learned from watching MacGyver is that gum can come in handy. As for the vodka I think I am in need of a shot or two 😉

  8. edrevets says:

    I’m so unused to people smiling at me that I usually scowl at them in return thinking, “What do they want?”

    But if they smile and say something like “Good morning!” Then I’m still weirded out but at least I know they didn’t want anything in particular.

  9. whew, I don’t k now if I can still be classified as a young lady, but if I were, my purse would be covered.

  10. Pingback: Personal growth and chocolate | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

