On the red carpet

My daughter joined me in my pursuit of joy yesterday, which of course made my second foray into painting much more fun. She did have a few questions about my composition that verged on the critical.

She questioned the purple parachuting frogs. I had to explain (patiently, of course) that I don’t know what they are doing yet. I won’t know until I paint what is happening on the ground.  Although I think something should be hiding beneath the blighted flowers with a weapon. Not sure of the particulars yet.

I think I taught her a valuable art lesson, namely to always pretend you know what you are doing in the face of hard evidence to the contrary. She was so taken in by my concept that she began to paint the airship the frogs were jumping from. I am not at liberty to share her work with you here. Some artists are sensitive about works in progress.

Today, my joy jolt came from the kindness of other bloggers eager to see what I will wear on the red carpet at the 2012 Blogging Award ceremony!  Since this ceremony is a figment of my imagination, I just know that I will make the best-dressed list! (Maybe I ought to open a window next time I paint.)

Ronnie over at Morristown Memos has awarded me the Kreativ Blogger Award.

Ronnie is the antidote to all the bad news that bombards us daily. Hurry over to read her unique take on life – she is shrinking, so you’ll want to catch her before she can no longer reach the keyboard.

Ottabelle over at Conversing with Novels has awarded me the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

Ottabelle’s novels often verbally abuse her, so for heaven’s sake, only write nice things in her comments, ok?

I am supposed to write 7 or 10 (or possibly 17) things about myself that you don’t already know, but if you’ve been reading along, you probably know everything by now, so I am going to risk the wrath of the blogging gods and skip this step.

I’m also supposed to pass these awards along to other bloggers. I am taking the easy way out here, too. I have a list of wonderful blogs in my Good Reads list. If you haven’t read these bloggers, you ought to. And if you are one of these bloggers, consider yourself the recipient of these awards.

Thanks to all the bloggers who do such great work and still find the time to support other bloggers (like me).

This entry was posted in Bring on the joy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to On the red carpet

  1. booksnob says:

    I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. Eggton says:

    I love “I don’t know what they’re doing yet.” Hilarious.

  3. Angie Z. says:

    I’m a big fan of what you’ve done with your painting. And your parachuting frogs look way better than the frogs in the old Frogger arcade game that consisted of a main box with four smaller boxes. I meant this as a compliment.

  4. gojulesgo says:

    OMG. I can’t wait to see your dress. Don’t let the frogs steal it.

  5. Little known fact: it’s far safer for frogs to parachute than to jump from great heights. I’m so glad I could enlighten you.

  6. Your painting just inspired this, do with it what you will:

    The frogs learned the truth when their prince sent a desperate letter hidden in a snail. “This isn’t MY PRINCESS!” He wrote. I am being held hostage by her wicked spider disguised as a human who knows that as long as she has me, she will remain queen. She won’t even kiss me and turn me into the prince. You must save me! My Princess is nowhere to be found.”

    Of course she was nowhere to be found. The Princess had turned herself into a frog so she could be with her true love, but he had already disappeared to be with another. When she found out his plight, she made a plan to go in and save her true love, even if it meant remaining a frog forever. She gathered the purple guard, and they made a plan. She led the way.

  7. Congrats on your numerous and well deserved awards.

  8. winsomebella says:

    Purple frogs and red carpets, oh my!

  9. notquiteold says:

    I will design a dress for your red carpet. My colored pens are raring to go.

    • Yay! Make sure you draw me extremely thin and beautiful. Because I am. No, really, I am. In every single red carpet fantasy I have ever had, I am extremely thin and beautiful. So, there you go.

  10. Elyse says:

    I think that the frogs are going UP, because they caught the wind. TSA would never let frogs onto an airplane and thus they couldn’t have dropped down.

    Congrats on the new awards, and thanks for keeping me on your “Good Reads” list! AND for not applying any pressure!

  11. Congratulations on your awards; that’s a clever way to name bloggers you recommend for an award; your goodreads list. What a listen to be part of!

    Ronnie

  12. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

