Valentines at the shelter

Valentines Book 1940 1

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday my kids and I made valentines for a nearby homeless shelter/soup kitchen, and today I delivered them, along with lollipops and some other donations. It was great to see my kids get excited about giving to people they don’t know.

While this little project was fun, it was certainly bittersweet. In my little, sheltered world, it’s easy to get wrapped up in middle class problems and forget how awful it is that some people have to sleep outdoors in February. When I visited the shelter today, I got a powerful reminder, and I realized just how little I do to help people who really need it.

I know a valentine and a lollipop can’t change a life, but maybe they can bring a smile, however brief, to someone’s face.

This entry was posted in Bring on the joy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Valentines at the shelter

  1. What a wonderful lesson to teach your children!

  2. Most people might consider volunteering at a soup kitchen or homeless shelter during Thanksgiving or Christmas, but what a great way to bring a little love into the lives of those less fortunate on Valentine’s Day.

  3. Elyse says:

    Good for you. What a nice idea.

  4. Kate Kresse says:

    lovely idea. good for you!!

  5. Tori Nelson says:

    You are the best. What looks like a little treat is really a symbol of caring and affection for people who might be running pretty low on those these days.

  6. You are such a sweet person! What a great thing to do.

  7. Angie Z. says:

    Just an amazing act of kindness. Gives me goosebumps.

  8. I love this! I grew up frequenting nursing homes with my parents, and have begun the tradition with my own children. They love making cards for what ever holiday we have at hand! I love traditions like that. what a kind thing to teach you children, as well as kindness towards others. that’s what I want my children to see valentine’s day as. a day to show our love to others, most especially those who may not be feelin’ the love from anywhere else!

  9. This is a really good idea! I hope I remember to do it next year.

Leave a Reply

