Surprise!

I’m not the most inspired gift giver. My gifts typically respond to a request or a practical need, and toasters just aren’t much fun on Christmas morning. I used to take more risks, but after a few of my gifts bombed (think desktop pool table, wooden drummer model kit,  sweaters I knitted myself) I started to play it safe.

Yesterday I decided to surprise someone I love with a gift they don’t need but might (I hope) enjoy. I read an excerpt of Ali in Wonderland, and it made me laugh, so I decided to pass the giggles on to someone else. No, I can’t tell you who; it’ll ruin the surprise.

Today I plan to be a slacker. Despite a long list of things to do, I’m going to blow off work for a little while probably to watch something funny. I’m usually chained to my to-do list, but today I’m embracing my inner sloth.

This entry was posted in Bring on the joy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Surprise!

  1. Inner sloths are good things.

  2. You are such an inspiration to me in so many ways.

  3. Love the term “embracing my inner sloth” It sounds much better than being lazy.

  4. gatehouse13 says:

    Good for you. When I slack off, rarely as I’m also chained to a huge to do list, I go and watch an episode of One Tree Hill. For goodness sake don’t tell anybody I watch something so trashy! I should know better by my age….. but that would be so boring.

  5. gojulesgo says:

    ha! Would love to hear more about your gift ‘bombs’ someday, but in the meantime, enjoy your (well-derserved) slothiness!

  6. Just in time. Your blog is perfect today; my visiting son just took my car for the day leaving me here at home with nothing to do but blog and read other blogs. ‘Love yours!

    Ronnie

  7. Maybe my “joy” for the day will be to unembrace my inner sloth. Nah.

  8. Pingback: Spare change | If I Were Brave

  9. Donna says:

    Thanks for the book :))

Leave a Reply

