Have playground slides always been this narrow?

My painting time was cut short yesterday by the insensitivities of the art industry to neophytes. My husband said it was time to go to the airport, so I had to stop.

Right now, my masterpiece is a field of blue with some flowers in the corner.Yes, I know the flowers look to be suffering from some sort of blight. I did that on purpose. Shut up.

It was fun while it lasted though. The smell of my kids’ acrylic paint is like the smell of crayons. One whiff takes me back to simpler times, when my biggest worry was what my mother packed me for dessert (an apple? again?!). Obviously I have no artistic talent, but playing with the colors and the different brushstrokes was fun. I’ll definitely come back for more.

Today I am visiting family in Atlanta, so I’m not sure what my daily joy jolt will be. At the playground this morning, I joyfully slid down the slide until I discovered it wasn’t wide enough to accommodate my, ahem, curves. I wiggled my way through, but I prefer my joy with a little less reality check.

I’ll find something silly to do and tell y’all about it tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Bring on the joy, Trying something new and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Have playground slides always been this narrow?

  1. I might just go in to the Barbie bin and start playing with their hair- how inspiring!

  2. Kate Kresse says:

    how about bubbles and playdough? I love the colors and contrast in your painting. PS if you go down the slide on your belly, the curves may not matter if you catch my drift 😉

  3. Lesley says:

    I love this post, it made me laugh – in a loving and nurturing way with you not at you ;-D

    Your daily joy project is making everyone happy!!

  4. Next time try the swings. I LOVE to swing and there’s no reminder of my curves.

  5. I caught a glimpse of my backside in the mirror this morning and thought it looked like a slide. Have fun!

  6. Angie Z. says:

    I happen to love that picture!

  7. notquiteold says:

    I’ve had a secret yearning to knead some play-doh. Or better yet, that old-fashioned modeling clay that felt so good in your fingers.

  8. Umm. I love that smell. And new crayons. Even Elmer’s glue – from a distance. More reasons I became a teacher.

    • I used to keep a box of crayons in my desk at work when I worked in an office. Whenever I got too stressed out, I’d take a whiff of the crayons. I swear, my pulse rate slowed immediately.

  9. Elyse says:

    They do something to the brains of adults who try to go back — back to slides, and desks and places that used to be much bigger than they are now. It’s a combination of hypnosis and too much caffeine.

  10. Zoos are not as dangerous as playgrounds with their teeny tiny narrow slides, and nothing there suggests a weight gain. Onward to the Zoo!

    Ronnie

  11. Pingback: So much paint, so little time | If I Were Brave

  12. Pingback: On the red carpet | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

