Identity crisis

This blog (and I) seem to have stalled. Finding something brave to do and write about isn’t the priority it was. I find that an entire day’s attention goes to my to-do list. And my list is pretty boring. I’ll spare you having to read about it.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this, but after a whole week of no posts, I feel like posting something—anything—is a good idea. I’m afraid the blog is slipping away from me, and I really don’t want that. At this point, the brave thing might be to keep posting even when I don’t know what to write.

So until my blog figures out what it wants to be when it grows up, I’m not sure what I’ll be posting. But I’m going to keep showing up, keep trying to figure it out.

This entry was posted in Telling the truth, Why am I doing this again? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Identity crisis

  1. I know exactly how you feel right now, Exactly. I’m not even brave enough to admit that I’m lost. I just feel like fading away into oblivion.

  2. Actually, I think it is pretty brave to admit that you are struggling with the blog. Keep writing and I’ll keep reading. Hang in there.

  3. I didn’t do my blog for 6 months – it felt as if it was too much of a chore and that I was doing it for the sake of it.

    If you’re not enjoying it, just lie low for a while and reappraise what you want to do. There’s no point in doing it if it’s a slog.

    I’ve started mine again now and will post as and when I like 🙂

    • I hear you. It seems like there are two schools of thought – take a break to recharge OR keep at it until the juices start flowing again. There is something to be said for both approaches.

  4. I doubt if there’s a writer on earth who hasn’t felt this way. Don’t let the feeling overtake you: you’re in a battle, and I’m rooting for you to win!

    Ronnie

  5. I think many writers face this at some point – I know I have! My advice would always be to live more and blog less then you’ll find that your ideas come tumbling back. A break can be a really good thing.

  6. You are one of three bloggers that I follow that have gone quite quiet over the last few weeks – as I have myself. Interesting. KEEP GOING WE WILL MISS YOU!!

  7. bigsheepcommunications says:

    There’s nothing wrong with taking a break until you feel inspired again. Go out and have some fun, we’ll still be here when you get back : )

  8. Muff says:

    Sometimes it’s a function of planning. Have you brainstormed a list of things that you want to do that are blog worthy? I bet you have a list in your head (including my challenge to you…). Start there and get them on a calendar. Can’t just plan your to-do list.

    Find something that you are going to love, and that is going to bring energy and passion to your life.

    I did a quick search. This may be interesting for you. http://www.newtownplayers.org/

    I bleive that they are a local group, so the logistics may not be so bad.

    Do go big picture, get specific and go!

    • Good advice, and I love that you never let me get away with anything. I do have a list on paper. What I haven’t done lately is put anything on a calendar. I will commit to doing that this week, and we’ll see where I end up. Thanks, Muff.

      • Muff says:

        just re-read my post, and clearly I am illiterate this morning.

        That was “Don’t go big picture…”

        What’s the reason for having a posse if they can’t keep you honest? That’s what got Brittney Spears into trouble – too many Yes men. I won’t steer you wrong and there is no real good reason to go around shaving your head if you don’t have to. I do, but I am bald, so that’s the difference. You have those nice locks…

      • Yes, exactly! I was feeling just like Britney but was too nervous to admit it! I’ll put the razor down now.

  9. Lesley says:

    I’m with Paprika!! You keep writing and I’ll keep reading. At some point inspiration will strike again (probably in the middle of the night).

  10. gatehouse13 says:

    Maybe it’s something in the air or just lack of long sunny days…. I’ve been feeling exactly the same and been posting far more rarely than my usual prolific self. I don’t have an answers, but as your others readers said we’re all here for you whatever path you take.

  11. winsomebella says:

    There is always value in showing up….it primes the pump. Will be here whenever you are, with bells on 🙂

  12. jfb57 says:

    It may be no comfort but we all go through those patches when there doesn’t seem to be anything to write. I understand that at those times you have to write – about anything and I will make you a pledge that if at all possible I will read what you write until you get you blog mojo back! Deal?

  13. Tori Nelson says:

    Making yourself post is pretty brave! I’ve been there ( I might just be there right this minute). The good news is that everybody goes through those cycles of funk and come out better for it on the other side. Keep on writing, lady!

  14. booksnob says:

    You’ll figure it out. Take all the time you need, we’ll be here when you come back. ❤

  15. Keep Posting and a Eureka a moment will hit! I just finished reading Anne Lamont’s Bird by Bird it was a really great book about writing and doing what you love. I think you should check it out – it was really an inspiration to keep going 🙂

    • I love that book. I need to remember to write only what I can see through a 1-inch picture frame. 🙂 Maybe I should re-read it.

      Favorite quote:
      “What do we want?”
      “Broccoli!”
      “When do we want it?”
      “August!”

  16. Just keep writing! And not just because I recently added you to my blogroll :). You have a terrific voice, and I so enjoy your posts. Don’t worry about fitting into the structure you’ve created for yourself. Just write. Write about what you’d like us to hear, about what you’re thinking, about what’s happening in your life, and a new theme will start to take shape. That’s the awesome part about this whole writing thing, anyway, right? You can make this blog whatever you want it to be, on your schedule. Keep up the good work. We’re reading.

  17. Jamie says:

    Have grace for yourself. Enjoy whatever is going on in your life that is taking the time and energy you’d put into blogging, and come back when you’re ready. Don’t expect perfection and don’t force inspiration. Live your life and share what you can when you’re ready.

  18. gojulesgo says:

    I think it happens to all of us! The great thing about blogging is that it can be whatever you want it to be, whenever you want it to be. I’ll be reading no matter what/when that is! 🙂

  19. amanda says:

    Rock on, sista. 🙂

  20. Keep writing! We’ll keep reading!

  21. Susan Child says:

    How BRAVE to admit a lack/lapes of any kind. *:)

  22. workmomad says:

    I have had days like that, when I just don’t know what I’m going to write about. Just stay at the keyboard and keep looking around, and something will pop in there. Just writing a personal blog is brave; think of all the things you tell the public at large about yourself through the words and stories you choose to share! Hang in there!

    Nancy

  23. Thanks so much for your support, everyone!

  24. Angie Z. says:

    I hope you don’t go away for too long! I’ve witnessed several bloggers go through this recently — writer’s block, theme boredom, time commitment, etc. Maybe the winter blahs are to blame. Hope to “see” you back soon.

  25. Elyse says:

    I blame the “I’m still tired from the holidays” syndrome. I’m sure there’s a drug for that. Write when you’re ready, or when you want to even if you aren’t ready. We’ll read your stuff — heck, you read ours!

  26. Kate Kresse says:

    Your blog is inspiring and a breath of fresh air. I am giving you the award I created. It is called the Candle Lighter Award. I created it to recognize and acknowledge bloggers and blogs that are lighting a candle in the darkness. Keep on going…the words will return. here is the link about the award. you can get the badge there. You aren’t required to pass it to anyone—but if you do, please use the link so they can understand the history of the award and get their badge. blessings to you today–http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/

  27. Sharon says:

    Funny, today I updated my about page. Something about how I have a dysfunctional relationship with my blog. For exactly the same reason you posted today. Kindred.

Leave a Reply

