Why should I be immune to weight-loss resolutions?

I have a weight problem. I’ve blogged about it before. It’s been a struggle for about 17 years. I am sick of it. I think I am more tired of thinking about my weight issue than I am of actually being fat. Every day, same thing: What in my closet is big enough to cover me up? Why did I reach for the cookies at 4pm? Tiresome stuff. Distracting, too.

So this week, I decided to try something new—a great website called Bitch Yourself Thin. In addition to reading the wonderful Betsy’s daily BYT blog entry, I’ll be posting my weight daily and drawing support from the community there.

Hiding  under baggy T-shirts isn’t working. Maybe taking my fat self out into the open will.

This entry was posted in Trying something new and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Why should I be immune to weight-loss resolutions?

  1. Sounds like my kind of blog – will check it out!

  2. Donna says:

    Now THAT is brave!

  3. Good luck! You can do it!

  4. Like the others have said, that is brave. After gaining and losing the same exact amount of weight for the past 20 years, I finally figured out what works for me. There are so many ways to do it. Each person gets to decide what it is that does it for them.

  5. blondgirl008 says:

    I’m trying it too!

  6. notquiteold says:

    I’m checking it out right now.. maybe we can all do this together.

  7. winsomebella says:

    Out in the open and amazingly brave. You’re on your way!

  8. Tori Nelson says:

    Oh, I am late the commenting party and now I sound like a broken record but THAT IS BRAVE! I’ll be here cheering you on (and hopefully learning a few new healthy tips)!

  9. Muff says:

    I am waiting for chubby to be the thing to be. I have high hopes…it’s the same hope I have where weeds in landscape beds are all the rage…It’s a healthy perspective, no?

    Until that happens, I think you have the better plan.

    • I am hoping for procrastination to be the new productive, sloppy to be all the rage in housekeeping, and my dogs to stop eating toilet paper. So I am no more sane than you are.

      • Muff says:

        …but we are both better off than the dog that eats toilet paper!

        I had a lab that would grab the toilet paper with her teeth, then run through the house with it. Funny, but ultimately pretty annoying.

  10. ottabelle says:

    We’re here to support you. 🙂

  11. gojulesgo says:

    Good luck! I’ve always struggled with my weight too. Ulgh. Why do chocolate and cheese have to taste so good? I want them involved in everything I do.

  12. anomalouis says:

    Was trying to think of some witty hyperbole or profound in response to your refreshing and refreshingly brave post about your weight struggles except to say that it resonated with me… You see, about 17 years ago, I was an avid runner – for whatever reason (and I knew the exact day and time it happened) I just literally stopped running (I was just done with the monotony of it that runners in their – “euphoria” – don’t talk openly about)… Now, I just reminisce about those healthier times – as if it is enough that I did it … It’s not… If I Were Brave – (and I hope to be really really soon) – I will BRAVE the running track across the street… And first Walk … then Run … not for some Personal Best Time – But for Me. I Deserve to be Healthy. Thank YOU for your honesty…

Leave a Reply

