Brave new year

I’ve emerged from the Christmas whirlwind finally. Amid the decorating, shopping, baking, wrapping, parties, baking, ignoring this blog and baking, I did keep the bravery goal in mind. Here are a few things I did:

  • Didn’t send Christmas cards. Didn’t even consider it. Sent an e-card instead. You’re welcome, trees.
  • Asked a woman in a movie theater to stop her child from kicking my chair. I was amazed at how embarrassed I felt, as if I were the rude one. But the kicking stopped.
  • Said no to a very nice person’s party invitation when I wanted to stay home instead. The world kept on turning, so I guess it was ok.
  • Instead of making something to bring to the parties I did attend, I ignored a lifetime of domestic conditioning and bought something instead. Hooray for me and for a few minutes saved during a busy season!
  • Wrote a query letter for a children’s book series (the ones I’ve been editing). This was new ground for me.
  • Watched American Horror Story and The Walking Dead series, both of which stressed me out and kept me up way past my bedtime. Ok, so I know I am reaching here. This is not bravery. But when I look back on the last few weeks all I can remember is confectioners’ sugar and that damn Elf on the shelf that I forgot to move every night.

Midway through my one-year commitment, I find telling the truth and looking foolish a bit easier. My microbraveries don’t feel so brave anymore; they just feel…normal.

In 2012, I’ll blog about non-brave things, too, mostly because I feel like it. However, I do have a few brave resolutions:

  1. Answer all remaining dares on my Dare Me page, including karaoke, eating haggis, responding to Muff’s splendid channeling of Chaka Khan, and inviting someone I don’t know very well over for dinner.
  2. Return to improv class, which is still the scariest thing I’ve done so far.
  3. Regularly submit work/queries to new publications, something I am pretty lame about.
  4. Attend a hula hoop class (this one inspired by The Bloggess).
  5. Walk barefoot across hot coals.
  6. Post more fiction pieces here.
  7. Defy death at another adventure park involving heights, ropes and the potential for deadly plummeting.
  8. Look silly in front of strangers without explaining why– walk around for a day wearing a miner’s hat, speak with an accent all day – (these are my 10-year-old’s suggestions).
  9. Perform acts of kindness to strangers.
  10. Ghost hunt.
  11. Have scary animal encounters. Snakes, bats and horses, oh my! Yeah, I don’t know why horses make me nervous either.

Hope you all have a great 2012, in which all zombies and other supernatural nasties are confined to books and screens. And if not, I wish you mad crossbow skills.

This entry was posted in Why am I doing this again? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Brave new year

  1. Happy New Year, Dory! I had no idea there were hula hoop classes. Those must be hilarious! Also? I’m adding “walk across hot coals” to my life list. How cool would THAT be?!?!? =D

  2. Gilly says:

    Happy New Year!! Love your list of brave resolutions. I’m especially looking forward to reading the miner’s hat post!

  3. I’ll join you on your ghost hunt! I am very good at finding them ;P

    I wish you the best in 2012 may it bring you joy and happiness!

  4. notquiteold says:

    Horses make me nervous too. They are big. And they have big teeth. And they smell. And they kick. And they could step on me.

  5. Walk barefoot across hot coals! Really!! I hope you just threw that one in to see if people were paying attention.
    Thanks for inspiring me to be brave!!! (Totally excited about the ghost hunting and fiction pieces to come…)

  6. You just reminded me, my husband and I were supposed to go on a rollercoaster date (no ropes for me though).

  7. winsomebella says:

    I’m thinking you need to change the name of your blog to “Because I’m Brave.” You seem to me to be there already :-). Happy New Year and I look forward to following your journey in 2012.

  8. Awesome, awesome lists! You are amazing!

  9. Too bad you’re no longer going to be brave, because I thought of a few more things you could try. Skydiving. Drinking tap water in a third world country. Volunteering to answer fire alarms with your local fire department. I’m looking forward to the non-brave things you’ll be searching for. I have even MORE things to suggest there, because I value life too much to try to do brave things.

    Submitting work to publications is really scary. Good luck and Happy 2012.

    Ronnie

    • Hi Ronnie,
      Thanks for the suggestions. I’d like to try skydiving, but feel irresponsible doing something that is that dangerous (I have children to raise). Like the fire department idea though…

  10. rynnasaryonnah says:

    “I was amazed at how embarrassed I felt, as if I were the rude one.”
    I’ve felt the same way too!
    I like “speak with an accent all day.” You should try different accents with different people. It’s quite fun!

  11. Lesley says:

    Happy New Year! I’m glad you’re back – I’ve missed your tales of your brave deeds. I really admire you for not sending Christmas cards out – I’ve been trying to work up the courage to do that (or not do that) for three years now and failed every time! Well done you.

    Just for the record – I think you’re very brave.

  12. gojulesgo says:

    So awesome! I love this blog, and am really looking forward to your kick-butt feats in 2012!! Also, horses are completely heebie-geebie inducing, no matter what anyone says. Happy New Year!!

  13. Muff says:

    Bring it. You know what I’m talking’ about…
    I’m thinking…compilation video!

  14. Addie says:

    I’m procrastinating on watching the The Walking Dead series. Need more courage and a perfect TV buddy. 😀

    Wonderful list. All the best in 2012.

  15. jfb57 says:

    Congratulations on the successes of 2011 & I can’t wait to share your 2012 adventures! Are you really going to do number 5?

  16. Patrick says:

    My favorite resolutions ever!

  17. blondgirl008 says:

    I like you already simply because you follow The Bloggess!
    I too feel so embarrassed when I tell someone to please stop kicking my chair. But it works.
    American Horror Story is delightfully horrible isn’t it? I can’t stop watching but every time I watch I get this knot in my stomach. But I’ll keep coming back for more.
    Enjoyed your list!

  18. IsobelandCat says:

    Aren’t hula hoop classes great?
    I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

