Twelve for twelve

Virginia over at Kiss Chronicles celebrated 11/11/11 with 11 positive actions and liked it so much she decided to celebrate 12/12 with 12 positive actions. She invited other bloggers to join her, so I did!

Disclaimer: I had a sick child at home (along with a full day’s work to do), so I was confined to my house and laptop. Here is what I managed to do:

  1. Took care of sick 7-year-old, including major spoiling, coddling and indulging. This might not get me any parenting awards, but the vomiting stopped, so I am putting this in the positive column.
  2. Thanked a work colleague who annoys the heck out of me but who did do something helpful.
  3. Cleaned my office. Ok, this one is a stretch, but the piles had become frightening, and the longer I stayed away from them, the worse it got. The sight of my office no longer fills me with dread.
  4. Apologized for acting like being a jerk to my (non-sick) daughter after I lost my patience with her. See #1 for other reasons I won’t win any parenting awards.
  5. Gave money to Meals on Wheels, Heifer International, St Jude’s Children’s Hospital, and FINCA. Merry Christmas!
  6. Stopped working when I was tired. This isn’t something I always do, but I am sooooo glad I did.
  7. Read my kids a Christmas book even though I wanted to watch a Gilmore Girls rerun instead.
  8. Danced with my kids in the kitchen.
  9. Did a favor my daughter has been asking me to do for a while.
  10. Asked my kids to share three things they experienced during the day for which they were grateful. We try to do this every night, but sometimes forget. I love helping them focus on the good they already have, especially when they are bombarded with messages about things they don’t have but MUST ACQUIRE!
  11. Did not yell at my dog when she chewed up half the contents of the garbage. This may have been loving kindness, or just exhaustion.
  12. Sent a nice email to a friend I haven’t talked to in a while.

Thanks for pushing me in a positive direction, Virginia!

This entry was posted in Trying something new and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Twelve for twelve

  1. peasoutmama says:

    Gilmore Girls — love.

  2. winsomebella says:

    I love your #10 idea…..!

  3. Jfb57 says:

    What a busy bee!

  4. Sharon says:

    2, 7, and 8 are my favs! Of course they’re all good but these those three had me covering my mouth to muffle the loud laugh sounds because it’s very early.

  5. gojulesgo says:

    Wonderful – go you! I’m not sure I would have been able to give up Gilmore Girls.

  6. Imperio says:

    I really like the concept. Being intentional during one day on creating positive ripples around you and in you. Sometimes acting on the positive end of the spectrum for every experience doesn’t come naturally or effortlessly for me. I have to work at it. Specially when I’m tired and feel like people should be able to read my mind and do what needs to be done so I don’t have to intervene. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

