Of mice and me

Image via Yahoo! Movies

First, there were Jacque and Gus, who kept Cinderelly company. Then of course there was Frederick, who gathered colors and words and the warmth of the sun to comfort his family through the long, cold winter.

And I can’t forget Despereaux (the book, not the movie), a hero as unlikely as he was wise and brave and true.

Cover of "The Tale of Despereaux: Being t...
Cover via Amazon

Which brings me to the zombie mice who will haunt my dreams tonight. I killed a mouse. Actually, the mousetrap killed it, but I had to dispose of its lifeless little body. Usually this kind of task falls under my husband’s jurisdiction, but he was out of town.

We live in the woods, so as the weather gets cold, the mice come a-visiting. Mouse poop is gross (although, to be fair, whose poop isn’t?) and when one scurries under the kitchen radiator in front of guests (true story), it’s embarrassing. I’m not the most enthusiastic housekeeper, but my house isn’t so dirty that we should be overrun with vermin.

Hence, the mousetraps. Yuck. Can I just say that? Yuck. Also, I’m sorry, little mouse.

This entry was posted in Heebie-jeebies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Of mice and me

  1. Muff says:

    They are dirty and cause havoc in a house. They must die. Sorry you had to do the disposal. Good brave moment though!

  2. lesliehobson says:

    I also live in the country so know what you are dealing with this time of year. Not pleasant, but as Muff says, entirely necessary.

  3. jfb57 says:

    Oh what a difficult thing to have to cope with especially as they are such cute creatures (at a distance ideally behind glass!)

  4. More than once we had a mouse die between the walls of our coat closet. Our cat tried to warn us by scratching at the wall. Apparently, the mouse got stuck in between the walls and was alive. The cat could hear him. Two days later the cat lost interest in the closet wall. The day after that we noticed the smell. We had to cut holes in the wall to find the dearly departed. This happened two years in a row. After the second year I suggested we put a little sign inside the wall that said, “Please ring bell for service.” so that we could get the mouse out before it croaked.

  5. I know how you feel. They can be cute, but they can also wreak havoc in our lives. I have the same mixed feelings about exterminating them, but I do draw the line at house invasion.

  6. winsomebella says:

    I wonder why those tiny little creatures strike terror in me……not fun!

  7. Susan Child says:

    Count your self lucky. My besty has a family of rats move into her attic. No hubby to do the dirty work either. We found their entrance and blocked it, so there should be no more visits.

  8. mheretowrite says:

    i have two cats in my home and they keep bringing dead mice which I have to pick up and through away! “Yuck” defines it perfectly!

  9. I know how you feel. I love rodents, and we used to keep rats as pets, but I don’t allow the wild variety to run rampant in my house. I hate to see them go, but it’s us or them!

  10. Angie Z. says:

    Poor little guy. Somewhere his family was probably waiting for him to come home, asleep in their matchbox beds and looking at their pocketwatch-turned-clock, wondering where Daddy was with the pizza he set out for. Sorry, I couldn’t resist the guilt trip 🙂

    I think his death (I’m guessing it was a snap-trap?), was probably much more humane than our little mousy 😦 We only had one and I was a brand new mom (so everything felt dirty/contaminated) at the time. I’m also an animal lover so it was hard for me to approve of the glue traps. When we heard him screaming in our closet, we knew he was stuck. Then we put him in a plastic bag since we couldn’t stand the thought of him starving to death in the dumpster. Ugh, why am I tell you all of this?!

  11. I had a mouse in my apartment in New York once that I trapped under a shoebox. I had to get the super to come up and get it. I didn’t know what to do. Jimmy came up and scooped the mouse into the box, lid and all in tact. And then he looked at me, cowering in the corner. “It’s so, so little.” And shaking his head in sadness and contempt at his Canadian tenant, he took my mouse away.

  12. notquiteold says:

    With four cats, finding a dead mouse is not that unusual. What I hate however is finding half a mouse.

  13. I used to store paper bags from the supermarket in the small space between the refrigerator and the cabinets. We had the usual signs of mice and I called an exterminator. He found the little guy hiding amongst the paper bags. I had made the perfect little place for him to nest.

    Ronnie

  14. A mouse ran into my bedroom once my parents set-up a mousetrap and shut the door. Needless to say I slept on the couch that night. The next morning my father had awoken me only to chase me around the house with the mouse in the trap. He thought it was the funniest thing ever!

  15. I love Frederick. It’s the best possible grey day story for my crew (and for me!!). But, mice? No. I do not love mice. We used to live in the woods, too, an after the mice got bold enough to climb up on the arm of the sofa to watch TV with us, it was time for them to go. My mum put out poison first, though, and found out the hard way that it makes the mice thirsty. I won’t talk about the dessicated bodies we found near the sink or beside the toilet. *shudders* Traps are better. And you are very, very brave for emptying one. *SHUDDERS*

  16. Marge Trammel says:

    go to Home Depot and get D-Con’s “No View-No Touch” Traps. Set it and when you get a mouse an indicator tells you so and you just throw the whole thing out! No fuss-no muss!

  17. Pingback: Another mouse bites the dust | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

