100 Word Challenge for Grownups

Julia over at Julia’s Place posts a weekly writing prompt, asking all comers to post responses of 100 words or fewer (not counting the words from the prompt). I’m taking the challenge this week, Julia!

This week’s challenge is  to write a piece including the phrase: “Is it me or are bells ringing?”

Here we go…

“Is it me or are bells ringing?”

“I hear them, too,” said Heather.

“Where…?” The dim line of my flashlight glanced off four moldy gravestones and the thicket of trees beyond the clearing but didn’t reveal the source of the clanging.

“It’s just Ethan trying to scare us. We know you’re there, Ethan!” Confident when she proposed this adventure, Heather now seemed uneasy.

“They’re louder now.” I crouched, as though the high grass would provide cover. Cover from what? I thought wildly.

“Who’s there?!” Heather screamed. “Let’s get…” Whoosh.

“What was that? Heather? Heather??”

It took me a moment to notice the bells had stopped ringing.

This entry was posted in Failure fear and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grownups

  1. Sharon says:

    Oooo! I love this concept. And your post.

  2. Love her concept. Love your post. Want to know what happens next…

  3. jfb57 says:

    Welcome to the 100WCGU Dory! Great to have you on board.

    I love this. It has so many different moods through it and such a great cliff hanger!!Hope you will become a regular!

  4. Lisa Wields Words says:

    Creepy! Love it! More! More!

  5. At first I thought it was just Three Go Off On An Adventure – until The Twilight Zone appeared from out of nowhere (obviously). Whoosh indeed!

  6. gsussex says:

    Jolly what’s going to happen next?

  7. Jim says:

    Super stuff! Like Lisa, I want more please!

  8. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have excellent content on your blog.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Content Writers Jobs

  9. Him Up North says:

    Liked this very much. 🙂

  10. Jodie says:

    Well done. 🙂

  11. That’s fabulous! You created quite an atmosphere in this piece, with great pacing. Great take on the prompt.

  12. midsummerdreamsandwintertales says:

    I thought it was going to be Christmasy. You got me.

  13. Doc says:

    Reminds me of A Wrinkle In Time which I happen to be reading now!

  14. ottabelle says:

    This is cute and creepy. My favorite combination.

    Thanks for sharing, now I want to start!

  15. ventahl says:

    Hey, I think I’ve found a kindred spirit 🙂 This is just the sort of angle I was working on last night! Good to find someone else thinks like me 😉

  16. Gilly says:

    Wowie! What happens next? What happens next? I want to read more! So good and so brave to post your work!

  17. Maybe the next challenge should be “tell the next chapter in 100 words.” Everyone wants to know!

  18. Sally-Jayne says:

    Really creepy! Loved it.

  19. gojulesgo says:

    Wow! I can’t believe what you managed to do in 100 words! I really like this. This is a good exercise for me and my short attention span, LOL

  20. Oooh eck! Brave? Insane more like! I could never do this – actually probably did once – but not ever again. And, I feel pretty sure I came out in one piece, with all of my friends.

    And what happens next? Does it all end there and then, or is there more to come?

    Mine (better late than never) is at http://wp.me/p1cFoK-NY

  21. The most charming thing about 100 word challenges is that they’re 100 words. But that was good!
    Les

  22. judithhb says:

    Don’t know about churchyards at night. But I love how you have told thistale in only 100 words.

Leave a Reply

