And a little of that

As you know, asking for help is difficult for me. Accepting help when it’s offered is almost as difficult. Last week, a nice parent offered to drive Gracie home from one of her many team practices. I smiled and declined the offer, not wanting to be a bother. Taking her home adds roughly two minutes to his trip and saves me and Sarah the hour we spend waiting for practice to end.

Yesterday I said, yes please. She got home safely. Sarah and I were able to get a few things done at home. And then I spent a fair amount of time worrying that I wouldn’t ever be able to make it up to him.

What is wrong with me?

In other news, I had another conference with Sarah’s teacher, which was marginally more positive than our last meeting. I still found myself having to sell positive reinforcement and praise as valuable teaching practices. Which absolutely kills me.

Afterward, my sparkly girl and I went shopping at the school’s book fair. Anyone who tries as hard as she does deserves a poster of a Koala Bear and a funny book about crazy teachers.

This entry was posted in Crazy mom confessions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to And a little of that

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Being the grown up is hard in so many little ways. You deserve a poster of a koala bear too!

  2. lesliehobson says:

    You might not be able to ever pay back the favour he did for you – and he probably doesn’t even imagine that you would think you have to. To him, it was two minutes and someone for his kid to talk to. Think about passing it on instead. Make the offer to someone else in a similar situation when you can – just by being aware.

  3. notquiteold says:

    Cheer hard for his kid at the next practice!

  4. Tori Nelson says:

    Whatever’s “wrong” with you is wrong with me, too! I am awful at accepting nice gestures/ help.

  5. Why is it so hard to ask for help? Other people can do it just fine. Ugh! I have the same problem and because of it, I am often overwhelmed.
    So glad to hear you had a better conference with Sarah’s teacher. Your Sarah reminds me so much of my Jay. Three cheers for kids with sparkle…hip hip hooray!

  6. Virginia says:

    Regarding the help example: Maybe there’s something inside of us (me, too, ’cause I know what you’re talking about) that feels like we have to give equal or more than we receive. He lost two minutes, but you gained an hour. Maybe you’re feeling that way because something inside you is saying you need to be able to give him an hour, when all he lost were two minutes? I’m not sure. Just theorizing at the moment. Maybe we can talk it out. 🙂

  7. EVERYONE needs a book about funny teachers, especially teachers who take themselves too seriously and the kids they try to intimidate. Maybe you could giftwrap a boxed set for Ms. Grouchy Scowly Face? Maybe along with one of those gourmet giant chocolate “macaroons” that look remarkably like cow patties? I kid…. Sort of.
    I’m the same way about the debt of gratitude. I know it’s ridiculous, but I do it anyway. I mean, I love to help people. Isn’t it reasonable to assume that other people like to help me, too? Living and learning and all that, I suppose. Good luck, my friend!

  8. Muff says:

    Quid pro quo, Clarice. Quid pro quo.

    You will have AMPLE opportunities to drive his kid to/from home some day. We have fully embraced the car pool, and it is a powerful technique for stepping off of your treadmill. If you are at all uncomfortable with it, think of how green the effort is by saving the gas by not driving.

    This one is a no brainer. Your neighbor was being nice, but he was also laying the groundwork for calling you up to do the same for him some day. All reasonable.

    I had a whole morning of teacher conferences. Always interesting…

  9. speaker7 says:

    I read the link to your previous post. Just so you know, I would LOVE to have a child like your daughter in my library.

  10. I think if someone offers to lend a helping hand accept it as a gift 🙂

  11. Keep working on the teacher. Your sparkly girl deserves it.

  12. I like the idea of having the book fair at the same time as teacher’s conferences. Sometimes we all need a little reward.

  13. Elyse says:

    I’m reading this post on Thanksgiving evening, after being the hostess of my husband’s family. I am normally reluctant to accept help for these things. That means I spend every holiday I host tired and grumpy. This year, I accepted help. I am now relaxed, happy and THANKFUL. I’ve learned a great lesson today. I am not the only one who can do stuff!!! YAY! But why do we all act that way? Perhaps we are all just nuts.

    Your kids sound wonderful.

Leave a Reply

