A little of this

Just a few microbraveries from the past few days.

  • When I felt pressured to agree to a meeting time that would make a colleague happy and me stressed, I said I couldn’t meet until later.
  • After someone volunteered me for something I didn’t want to do, I made it clear that I wouldn’t do it. And I pointed out that I don’t want this kind of thing to happen again. Probably didn’t make much of a dent. This guy lives in his own little universe, but at least I made myself heard.
  • While waiting for an appointment today, I asked to sit in a more comfortable spot than where I was initially ushered.
  • I was trained to be a Meals on Wheels driver yesterday. I’ll write more about that after I do my first solo run. I am VERY excited about this.

You’d think that after four and a half months of trying new things and speaking up a bit more that these little things wouldn’t make me uncomfortable. And you’d be right.  Speaking up about what I want and standing up for myself come much more naturally to me now. Which was the whole point, really.

I still have room to improve and a long list of new things I’d like to try. What I haven’t had lately is lots of time. But I’m working on it.

Because I feel like it, here is a video I think is funny.

This entry was posted in Standing up and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A little of this

  1. I hope he heard you loud and clear 🙂

  2. These are all great accomplishments. My wife is really working harder at saying no to people. She’s so nice that she gets roped into things that will take a ton of time, won’t be appreciated by the asker, and will result in more requests for favors because everyone knows she’ll help.

  3. notquiteold says:

    Saying no when someone volnteers you is VERY brave. I still can’t do it.
    As to meals on wheels, I worked on the admin side many years ago. Our clients SO appreciated it. You will make a difference in their lives – both with the food and especially with the visit.

  4. I’m so glad that taking care of yourself is coming more naturally to you! That is awesome. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Amy says:

    You are awesome Dory! The video was perfect–he’s brave and smart! 🙂

  6. So awesome! This morning one of my clients asked me to do some working during time I had set aside to do things for myself. I declined. And thought of you! I would never have said no to something like this four months ago. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  7. winsomebella says:

    I think you will love Meals on Wheels. And they will love you, I’m sure. Seems to me you are making very big and brave steps each day.

  8. k8edid says:

    So proud of you!!! Meals on Wheels is great, you will be great.

  9. Muff says:

    Do you have a posse behind you making horse trotting noises all the time, singing songs about you? I find that my confidence goes way up when I have mine with me…

  10. Virginia says:

    YAY! The Meals on Wheels is coming up! *bounce* I’m so looking forward to hearing more about this.

    You know, four and a half months isn’t actually all that long. Habits take a long time to form, and they ALSO take a long time to break. I bet, even without you realizing it, the lessons you’re teaching yourself are gradually starting to sink inside of you.

  11. Gilly says:

    Your bravery is catching! I’ve been more assertive myself lately! I am naturally the type to freeze in a corner than offend someone by moving or *gasp!* telling them about it. Go you! And thanks for sharing! 🙂

  12. Once I turned 50 the words, “No thanks, I don’t really want to do that,” came much easier. Up until then I couldn’t figure out how to get that point across. Good luck, I hope it doesn’t take you as long to learn the lesson as it did me.

  13. My wife and I did the SF food bank on Thanksgiving. It was fun.
    Stay brave!
    Les

Leave a Reply

