Ask and you just might receive

Yesterday, I moved my girls and my dogs back into our house. Our power has been restored. I am really grateful for this bit of good fortune, especially since half the people in town are still out of power!

Packing and unpacking took a big chunk out of my day. I had told a client I would deliver some work by 5pm. But at 3:45pm, when I still hadn’t finished unpacking and I still hadn’t started the work, I decided to ask for more time.

I hate doing this. I could probably count on one hand the number of times I haven’t met a deadline and I wouldn’t get far from my thumb. But I thought it was worth asking if Monday morning would suffice. Luckily, my client said yes.

I don’t plan to blow off my deadlines from now on, but I can’t help but notice that this is a perfect example of what can happen when you risk disapproval to ask for what you want. I need to do it more often.

This entry was posted in Standing up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ask and you just might receive

  1. This week was full of extraorinary situations for many of us. Good for you for giving yourself permission to ask permission to push your deadline.

  2. notquiteold says:

    I worked for years for a company where you didn’t dare ask for more time. You just worked – all night if necessary. When I changed jobs, I had a lot on my plate getting ready for a big meeting, and the boss asked me to do something additional. I said, “Of course.” Then I thought about it. I went to her and told her I didn’t think I could meet the deadline on the additional work. She said, “That’s okay. When do you think you can get it done?” And I knew I had picked the right job.

    • Sometimes it’s worth the risk of asserting yourself to ask for what you want just so you can smoke out the people and situations that aren’t good for you. Those who mind, don’t matter. Those who matter, don’t mind.

  3. gojulesgo says:

    So glad you have power back!! And I think this is a perfect example of “you never know unless you ask.” It is such a difficult thing to do – bravo to you!

  4. Sometimes things are out of our hands and we can’t control the time as much as we would like… I’m sure your client is very understanding! I am happy you are back in your home and enjoying its warmth 🙂

  5. One lesson I’m still learning is how to give accurate estimates of how long something will take and how to give myself realistic deadlines. I get a lot accomplished by obsessively sticking to deadlines, but sometimes I commit to something unrealistic and I need to know when to take a step back.

  6. WOOOT!!! Welcome home! I think it’s perfectly reasonable to ask for a bit of extra time, especially considering the circumstances. I hate missing deadlines, too, so I know how hard it is to ask for that time. But, still. Running ourselves into the ground serves no one.
    It must be so good to be back in your own home. 🙂

  7. workmomad says:

    It’s not like you didn’t have some pretty good reasons to need the extension!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

Leave a Reply

