Another microbravery

Greetings from my father’s house. While I am still soooooo grateful for zippy modern conveniences like heat and running water, operating from a different home base has left me a bit discombobulated and less efficient than usual. So I will probably be MIA for a couple of days this week.

Only one microbravery for today: two women were chatting on either side of me in the grocery store checkout line. I wanted to add something to the conversation but felt shy. Hard to believe if you know me in real life and know just how loud I can be, but it’s true. I get shy sometimes.

Anyway, after two abandoned attempts to join in, I finally came out with it. Did it change the world? No. Did I make two instant friends? No. But I had a smile, felt an enjoyable (if superficial) connection with two other people and showed myself enough respect to voice my ideas.

Told you it was a little thing.

Hope everyone still out of power is keeping warm and safe.

This entry was posted in Standing up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Another microbravery

  1. It’s not a small thing at all. I’ve been in that situation. It’s powerful, indeed, to create a sense of community, if only for a moment.

  2. Sharon says:

    I’d have to agree with Life in the Boomer Lane. I’ve felt that fear of regection or whatever I thought they’d do to me for piping in. And I think it’s the taking of the chance you did that made me smile reading this post.

  3. Gilly says:

    I agree too! Not a small act at all! 🙂
    Hope power is restored in your area soon and you can return to home base shortly.

  4. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Little stuff adds up : )

  5. Jodie says:

    Who knows, maybe you had more of an impact on those around you, then you think. 🙂 Bravo for the courage to speak up. 🙂

  6. I think it is a very brave thing 🙂 I hope your power is back up and running soon!

  7. I love, albeit brief, moments of camaraderie and community- wherever you can find them!

  8. winsomebella says:

    A big moment in a short timespace. Nice.

  9. Was it talk about the storm or the postponed Halloween celebration?

  10. notquiteold says:

    I can be subject to bouts of shyness with strangers too. I know that it is very simple, but not always that easy. So good for you.

  11. Rock on, Brave One! I’m always hesitant to join the wall of mum’s standing at the boards during the kids’ skating lessons. They all know each other, already, you know? But next time, I’ll say ‘hello’ instead of my standard nod-and-smile. More smiles to spread around are always a good thing 🙂

  12. Carla says:

    You may have made a bigger difference than you think. 🙂 Thanks for being brave! Next time I go shopping, I’ll probably be smiling in the line and no one will have a clue!

  13. I too feel shy about striking up conversations with strangers. Elevators are especially awkward. But it’s funny how I can easily start chatting with children, particularly based on what they’re wearing: “I like your sparkly shoes” or “My son has the same SpongeBob shirt.” I wish it was as easy with adults: “Wow! Those boots must have cost a fortune!” or “I bought the same shirt from Costco. Is that where you got it?” Somehow those conversations usually end badly. Which probably explains why I’m shy about striking up conversations with strangers.

  14. Virginia says:

    Bravo! I love joining in conversations in random situations. Does it always work? Oh heck no. Do I always find the courage to join in? Nu uh, nope. BUT, sometimes it does work, and I’m always appreciative that it did.

    Most people are more open to talking briefly with strangers than we realize. So many of us walk about in our own closed little world, but when the path gets opened up to connect, suddenly it can be like a breath of fresh air.

    I actually learned this when I was a teenager working a checkout lane in a grocery store. I realized, to my surprise, that I really liked it whenever a customer said something friendly/unexpected to me or made a joke. I’ve tried to apply that knowledge ever since, especially with cashiers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

