Kickboxing, sport of the future (like tomorrow)

A light rain on a chilly morning. A nearly empty shopping center. Four people stand outside a martial arts center and wait. And shiver. And wait.

I reported for kickboxing at 10am sharp. The center owner was unavoidably detained, so no kickboxing for me until tomorrow.

While I waited, devotees of the sport, the center and the absent teacher filled me in on all three.

First, it really hurts. “But in a good way!” one of them assured me. Then they spent a good ten minutes cataloguing injuries–herniated discs, head injuries. Their bodies had really taken a beating. “But in a good way!” Ok, no one said that, but it was definitely implied.

They lauded the teacher’s positive approach to nudging students of all ages beyond imagined limits. One guy mentioned his son’s success, echoing what I’d heard about martial arts building confidence and developing discipline in children.

Sarah is interested in karate, but we haven’t gotten around to trying it. Given her classroom struggles, I would love to see her build confidence in a positive environment that pushes her without making her feel inferior. I said as much. And then my eyes teared up. In front of three strangers.

What’s better than waiting outside on a cold wet day for a class that never happens? Waiting outside on a cold wet day for a class that never happens with a nutjob. You’re welcome, kickboxers!

Sarah’s school struggles have been on my mind since I met with her teacher last week. I’m doing my best not to worry, which is to say that I think about it only every other minute. Hence the emotional reaction to a conversation about karate.

Sarah will probably try karate at some point. Although we’ll need to equip Grace with some self-defense tactics. You know, to even the odds.

Tomorrow, kickboxing. I hope.

This entry was posted in Trying something new and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Kickboxing, sport of the future (like tomorrow)

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    I’m skeptical of the claims that kickboxing hurts “in a good way.” Be careful tomorrow! Karate is great for kids, but my daughter got a big confidence boost years ago from horseback riding too.

  2. Beware of well intentioned exercise enthusiasts who tell you “it will hurt in a good way.” If I were you, I’d press them to give you a time frame. For how many days after the class is over will it be hurting in a good way?

  3. workmomad says:

    I’m a little fuzzy on the distinction between “hurting in a good way” and “hurting in a bad way”. It seems like there is a common thread there and it is not good!

    Try not to worry too much about Sarah. I know what it’s like to have something come up at school or pre-school (and I’ve had some doozies, not all of which I will ever share) that sends you into a tailspin, but both you and your daughter will survive and her sparkle will come back. I know from experience – even if right now you keep getting the sinking feeling in your stomach every 10 minutes or so.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

  4. Doc says:

    Dear Nutjob (your words, not mine)-
    Give a kid anything he or she can excel at and it will build confidence in other areas.
    (Now if I could only find something I excel at….)

  5. winsomebella says:

    A mother’s eyes tearing up doesn’t always feel good but it gives that bottled up love a way to work things out. Kinda like martial arts does with bottled up energy.

  6. You. Are. Killing. Me. With. The. Suspense. You better kickbox tomorrow, or I’m going to make you do my colonoscopy for me instead.

  7. It will hurt in the oddest of places! Be prepared to walk a little funny the next day 😛

    My kids are both in Karate and they love it! I hope things get better for Sarah.

  8. midsummerdreamsandwintertales says:

    It totally hurts. Like the first time you try snowboarding. (Hope I didn’t wreck that one for you). But at least you get to kick someone.

  9. I’ve never tried kickboxing, but I SO want to! Also, martial arts. It’s on my list (I think – if it’s not, I’m going to add it) to learn a martial art and my kids have shown some interest in it. Though, of course, they will both have to learn in order not to give either of them an unfair advantage. From my experience working with kids, I have to echo @Doc’s comment: A child who is struggling in one area with AMAZE you in all areas once giving an opportunity to shine. And also? I hope you enjoyed kicking some ass!

Leave a Reply

