I know what I’m doing: watching Dexter

I haven’t had much time to blog this weekend. I’m teaching a new writing workshop this week and I’ve spent quite a bit of time preparing.

Typically I overprepare. It makes me comfortable, and it makes the workshops run smoothly. When I coach people on presentation skills, I advise them to prepare as thoroughly as they can. But this time I am ignoring my own advice.

Instead of obsessing over the material and driving myself crazy, I’ve decided to trust myself. Trust that I can think on my feet and handle whatever comes up. Trust that I know my stuff and how to teach it.

Why the devil-may-care attitude? Well, I am running out of time, I’m feeling brave, and Dexter is on tonight.

I may crash and burn, but just think what a fun post that will make.

This entry was posted in Failure fear and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I know what I’m doing: watching Dexter

  1. Elyse says:

    This attitude means, of course, that you ARE brave. Cowards cannot wing it.

  2. Jodie says:

    Lol, enjoy Dexter and good luck tomorrow. 🙂

  3. It is amazing how reckless we bloggers can be with the assurance that anything that goes wrong will either kill us or make a good blog post.

  4. bigsheepcommunications says:

    I smell confidence…

  5. Muff says:

    Dexter is a recent find for me. I am obsessed…not sure why. It’s a dark show.

    You have done this over and over. You are the subject matter expert. If you have a question that comes up that you are not prepared for, it is likely that you would not have been prepared anyway. You will be great as usual.

  6. gojulesgo says:

    Can’t wait to hear how it goes (and I think leading a workshop is very brave, by the way)! I’m the same way – I get anxious about work stuff or having company (etc.) and at some point have to say, “Enough! I’m stopping now and watching 90210!” LOL

    • Yes. At some point, it just isn’t worth the stress.

      90210. Talk about a guilty pleasure. 😉

      • gojulesgo says:

        Had to swoop back in here to ask, do you watch 90210?? It’s hard to find anyone that does, LOL, but I’ve gotta tell you, aside from Glee, it’s my favorite show! It’s such a hoot, and the ULTIMATE guilty pleasure (you are so right!)!

      • I used to watch it faithfully. I haven’t seen it in a while. I LOVE Glee, too. I also love Buffy, Firefly and have recently discovered Gilmore Girls, which I suspect should be a guilty pleasure as well. Or at least a geeky one. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Not much to report | If I Were Brave

  8. My daughter loves Dexter. She did a Powerpoint presentation on it for a college class. Maybe you could incorporate it? Better than killing people who deserve it.
    Les

Leave a Reply

