An update and some (brave?) procrastination

My girls’ sports are in full swing, and I am scrambling to find something brave to talk about after a week of driving to various practices and late night (ok, 8pm) homework sessions.

It does take some courage to look at our calendar. No?

Ok, well, I had another conversation with the loved one I mentioned the other day. I pressed a little more, and got a little more in return. I am supposed to find the name of a doctor. I find that very encouraging.

Yesterday, I courageously stole 90 minutes from my work day to finish a book I was enjoying. I know, I know. That is just procrastination. And it was a ridiculous move considering how busy I am right now. But it was fun.

Since I clearly don’t have much to say for myself, I put the responsibility of today’s post on you. Is procrastinating so you can do something you enjoy brave or cowardly? Discuss.

This entry was posted in Crazy mom confessions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to An update and some (brave?) procrastination

  1. notquiteold says:

    It’s always brave for a woman to put herself and her pleasures first. Such guilt accompanies that…it’s brave to accept the guilt you KNOW you will have.

  2. Is procrastinating so that you can take time to enjoy something a show of bravery or cowardice? Hmm… I’ll have to get back to you 🙂

  3. Procrastinating is always brave, because you’ll have what you’re supposed to be doing nagging you the whole time you’re not doing it, and you’ll defy that nagging voice with courage and boldness until you damn well feel like doing what you’re supposed to be doing. (I don’t think it’s “brave” for women to take time for themselves, though. No more than it is for anyone else, anyway. Sorry – couldn’t ignore that one.)

  4. What book was it?

    Loved Paprika’s answer…for me, procrastinating is definitely cowardly (I know. Awful to say). Like right now, when I’m catching up in emails, when I should be cleaning…Definitely not brave, to avoid scrubbing a toilet. So maybe procrastinating is more about self-preservation than testing yourself. Maybe it’s safer. 🙂

  5. bigsheepcommunications says:

    That feels like an essay question and I don’t think I’m getting credit for this class so I respectfully decline to answer. But, do tell us what book you were reading.

    • 🙂 My book group read a young adult selection this month: The Hunger Games. I enjoyed it so much, I read the whole series. The book was the last in the series, Mockingjay. Kind of makes it even worse, doesn’t it?

  6. Kim Hornby says:

    Maybe it’s not procrastination, maybe it is taking a break so that you can be more focused and productive later. How’s that for rationalization?

  7. winsomebella says:

    Procrastination sometimes is simply re-prioritizing. Totally good.

  8. I vote for brave! I know I feel brave when the kitchen is overflowing with stuff to do, the kids have been on purée all day and I have no idea what we’re having for supper and I open a book and read for fifteen minutes or so just because I want to. There is bravery in risking not getting everything done, right?

  9. Muff says:

    Dear Linda Richmond,

    This week’s cawffee tawk topic from you is interesting. It gives me shpilkis in my genechtagazoink. I think procrastination is neither brave or cowardly, but it is an indicator that you are doing things during the day that are not interesting to you. Now we all have those things, but if you find yourself procrastinating a lot, you have to get back to the question of why you are not interested.

    Sounds to me like you get over loaded, and your mind tells you to stop for a bit to get clarity. All seems totally ok to me. You CANNOT be all things to all people – self, wife, mother, sister, friend and expect to be superlative all the time. So, if every now and then you play a little intra-day hooky, isn’t it a little bit better to do so if the otherwise vast majority of things gets taken care of?

  10. gojulesgo says:

    Great question! My husband and I are facing tons of yard work this weekend because of procrastination for the past two months! I’m not sure it was brave or cowardly to choose to do fun things instead, but I do think it was worth it 🙂

  11. Nonstepmom says:

    I always find, in my effort to avoid doing “A”, items B,C,D get checked off my list. So I find procrastination can be quite productive! (“Hey, did you have a chance to clean the gunk out of the pool filter?” “No, but I mowed the lawn, made cupcakes, cleaned the windows and wrote a novel !”)

  12. Sharon says:

    Brave, because you know you’re doing something you’re not supposed to if you’re feeling guilty. That you did it anyway makes you not a coward.

  13. addielicious says:

    I’d have to say ‘bravely’ but my cyberslacking during office hours is not doing me any good for months now. Sigh.

  14. Doc says:

    “Time you enjoy wasting, was not wasted.” ~~ John Lennon

Leave a Reply

