Another vague account

Again I have to write around the details. Here goes a recount of a conversation during which I defended a friend against detractors. My friend volunteers time in a way that benefits these people. Alas, I don’t think I made a dent in their sense of entitlement:

Detractors: I can’t believe that [wonderful person] isn’t doing more.

Me: [Wonderful person] is doing a lot for you with absolutely no reward.

Detractors: [Wonderful person] expects us to pitch in and that is offensive.

Me: It’s completely fair to ask for your help. [Wonderful person] isn’t getting paid for this, you know. And there is a lot to be done.

Detractors: I don’t like the way [Wonderful person] is handling this. [Wonderful person] is asking too much and not giving enough!

Me: Then I suggest you take over the job and do it “right.”

[crickets]

Detractors: I want [wonderful person] to do more!

Me [slowly backing away]: Okay, bye.

This entry was posted in Standing up and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Another vague account

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Sounds like the PTA at any suburban elementary school anywhere in the U.S.

  2. Or a community league in just about any suburb in Canada. What a sucky situation.

  3. lesliehobson says:

    in any volunteer situation, 10% of the people do 90% of the work. it sucks but ’twas always thus.

  4. Virginia says:

    See, in moments like that, I never manage to say the right thing. I’m glad you did. Thumbs up.

  5. I’m always surprised when I find myself mired in conversations like this with ‘adults’. You were so clear. There must have been a lot of selfishness in that room, because the odds are against them all having a good excuse for not ‘getting’ it.

  6. It’s frustrating! Sometimes are hands are just tied. Kudos to you for saying the right thing!

  7. Wow, what dunderheads. Good job for not strangling them on the spot. I might have and then planted to bodies in the garden.

  8. I’m so behind on my reading and want/need to read the previous post. I’ll be back tomorrow. This conversation sounds so familiar. 🙂

  9. winsomebella says:

    I am always amazed when people criticize other people who have gone an extra mile. Sometimes I think it is a wierd jealousy and sometimes it is just a sour attitude. Either way, it’s uncalled for.

Leave a Reply

