It’s the river, not the words. Or maybe it’s the cold medicine.

Yesterday I had my first one-on-one coaching session for the voiceover demo. My coach told me that there is a river of energy flowing through me. The river changes all the time, and words just float on top of it. The words don’t mean anything; the energy beneath them means everything.

Also he told me I don’t always have to pause when there’s a comma. That advice was easier to process.

I have to admit that I did not meet my writing commitment yesterday. The day just got too busy. I know, I know. I need to make the time.

To make up for yesterday, I’ll do two writing prompts today. Here you go (both courtesy of Writer’s Digest):

You’ve developed a cold only to discover that instead of sneezing, you (fill in the blank) every time feel like you have to sneeze. This side effect proves to create a fairly entertaining scene at the office with coworkers during your weekly budget meeting. Write this scene.

That one is a good one for me since I have a cold. Again. Note to self: less vodka, more orange juice.

Here’s another one:

Write a 10-word sentence that sums up your day.

This one I can do right here. Here it is: Tried to sleep through a meeting but they kept talking!

It was a phone meeting. Cold medicine makes me tired. Shut up.

This entry was posted in Failure fear, Trying something new and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s the river, not the words. Or maybe it’s the cold medicine.

  1. I hate it when people talk while I’m trying to sleep. Especially while I’m working. That’s so rude!

  2. I’m very tired. The day sucked. Is it over yet?

    I guess that sums up my day! It will only be better tomorrow 🙂

  3. Jodie says:

    Lol, yeah meetings will do that. 🙂

  4. gojulesgo says:

    Sorry to hear you’re under the weather! And I can’t tell you how many pointless conference calls I’ve been on.

    I love the voiceover coaching advice. And your writing exercises. 10-word sentence to sum up MY day? “Counting down the minutes until Jersey Shore…need more booze.”

  5. Virginia says:

    My 10-word sentence: “God said ‘let there be sushi,’ and it was good.”

  6. 10 words? “If anything else goes wrong today, call in sick tomorrow.” Today sucked. I hope yours gets better!

Leave a Reply

