Playing hooky

I’ve realized that I need to play hooky from this blog sometimes. Or maybe I just want to. Yesterday was like that.

I committed to doing something brave every day for a year, and so far I have. Sometimes you need a microscope to see the bravery, but still. I have stood up for myself. I have spoken my mind. I have willingly looked ridiculous, and I have tried new things. And I will continue to do so.

But on my busier days, writing this blog can seem like a chore, one that’s really hard to fit in. When that happens, I’m taking the day off.

Sounds simple, but it’s difficult for me to say it. I have this thing about keeping promises. It’s mostly a good thing (I am pretty reliable), but it can be unnecessarily constricting. At the risk of sounding like the 50% of married couples who throw in the towel, sometimes it makes sense to change the nature of a commitment. When it doesn’t work. When it becomes clear that upholding the letter of it doesn’t always uphold the spirit of it.

No one gets hurt if I skip a day. So why let the idea that I SHOULDN’T dictate my actions?

A wise friend counseled me that if blogging doesn’t meet one of my goals (becoming more brave, becoming a better writer, having fun), then I should at least consider blowing it off until it does.

So that’s why there was no post yesterday.

However, I did tap dance with Diane yesterday, the happiest person on the planet. She offered us lollipops after class with no sense of irony whatsoever. I want to synthesize her DNA into pill form.

Today I am taking another voiceover class and identifying scripts for my demo. So I’m moving forward with that venture.

See, I’m not lying down on the job when it comes to brave stuff. Just, you know, blogging about it. Sometimes.

I promise to post tomorrow. And you know how I am with promises.

This entry was posted in Why am I doing this again? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Playing hooky

  1. Jayne Long says:

    I deactivated my Facebook account today – now that was brave! I think I need real, not virtual friends from now on!!

  2. notquiteold says:

    It’s also brave to skip it once in a while. To go away and not worry that you won’t be missed.

  3. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Sometimes it’s good to step back and ask “what’s the point of that goal?” Really, if you filled your day with dancing and a lollipop, that’s probably as good as it gets : )

  4. gretchen hancock says:

    I’m with BigSheep. That IS as good as it gets!

  5. You are missed when you aren’t here, but it’s great to know that you are out there being brave in the real world.

  6. Virginia says:

    I say don’t be hard on yourself. It might not seem like it before you start it, but keeping up with a daily blog post is actually a big time dedication. (Deciding content, creating content if needed, writing about the content, proofreading, publicizing…yeah, there’s a lot there.) I vote for not being hard on yourself for modifying the plan. 🙂 Flexible plans are the best because they can grow with you.

    The important part of the mission is that you keep up with the bravery, which you can always recap for us later, as you did here.

  7. Muff says:

    You say “No one gets hurt if I skip a day. So why let the idea that I SHOULDN’T dictate my actions?”

    What about you? Sometimes the things we commit to have rough patches. It’s change management 101. For things to change, the system has to be challenged. It seems to me that the daily blogging of being brave is just a way to embrace being brave period.

    The grit and rigor make you stronger, and the results will be more rewarding. There is a great opportunity here to show yourself and your girls, that when you commit to something you see it through. Changing the goals during the course is pure rationalization. I think that the WWII generation of folks understood this best, and frankly why our country is in a mess today is that we have outsourced the hard work part, and wallow in the immediate gratification of things. The “it’s too hard/not so fun/too much time” argument kind of isn’t good enough… There is something about the absoluteness of the commitment that needs to be respected. That is bravery too by the way.

    Now, don’t go feeling all guilty like you let down the everyone you have ever known, but what is wrong with commitment, hard work and perseverance? It’s what all worth while things are made from, and there is serious pride to be harvested there.

    That, and I love the daily posts, and selfishly I want to read them every day. Thank you very much. (spoken like Ladka from Taxi…Andy Kaufman was so bizarre, yet so funny)

    • WWII? Are you serious? Listen, I get what you are saying. And I am NOT giving up on the commitment of doing something scary everyday. I will write about those somethings. But there will be some days I want to skip and double up the next day. There is something to be said for listening to your gut, and my gut sometimes tells me that I need a day off. I don’t want to write this thing if it feels like a chore. Some things that feel like a chore – working out, writing certain things for my clients, making dinner – must be endured. But if I am tapped out and have nothing good to say that day, why force it? I would rather do 5-6 posts a week I feel good about than 7 that make me say, “meh.” There is nothing wrong with commitment, hard work and perseverance. That’s exactly what it takes to post that often.

      Did you see how I stood up for myself there? See, brave.

      • Muff says:

        Yes, very good. Very brave.

        I just don’t want you to let doubt creep in. did you notice I wrote that at 4 am? Much morning coffee would temper the tone, but not the message. You are better for the commitment. Don’t let the dogma get you down…

        And yes, WWI had some hard core folks. I think our generation is really soft in comparison.

      • No doubts. Why are you writing at 4am, my friend? Get some sleep!

  8. Gilly says:

    I feel so guilty if I don’t blog when I’m “supposed to.” One day I decided I wasn’t going to post on my day and that was that! (Oh I felt so proud of myself!) I didn’t feel like writing about a subject that was causing me so much anxiety and stress and wanted to step away a bit. I ended up writing a short post at the last minute because I could not handle the feelings of guilt and regret. Ha ha! I was not brave at all…

  9. workmomad says:

    The first day I misssed a day on the five day schedule I like to keep was really, really hard. It’s not quite so hard any more, although I prefer to keep the five day schedule when I can because I like the idea that people read my blog and they expect things from me. I get really ancy at two days or so. Still, when it’s necessary, it’s necessary and I try not to fret about it too much! If I were you, I wouldn’t worry about it much. I know with the blogs I read I “kind of know” when they publish; I don’t worry about people after one or two missed blogs, but there is a time length after which I check in to be sure everything is okay. (Sorry, long reply; I just took a pain pill for my surgery two hours ago and am extra chatty.)

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

  10. I do the same thing. My goal is to write every other day, or three posts a week at minimum, but sometimes it doesn’t work out that way. Blogging is important, but authenticity is so much more important, you know? If I’m writing because I feel like I have to, it reads as forced because it is. Inauthentic and false. Boo to that! I love your blog, and find your adventures so relatable (is that a word?) and inspiring. You go ahead and blog whenever the hell you want to 🙂

Leave a Reply

