Stop it, I’m blushing!

The lovely and funny lady at What I Meant 2 Say has honored me with The Versatile Blogger Award. She and her pseudonymous crew always keep me entertained. Many thanks to her!

As a recipient of this award, I am supposed to:

  1. Thank the person who shared the award by linking back to them in my post. See above.
  2. Pass this award to 15 recently discovered blogs and let them know that I’ve included them in my blog post. See below.
  3. List 7 things about myself. See even farther below.

First, some recommended reading. Here are 15 blogs I have recently discovered. Although some have been around for a while and some may have already been named Versatile Bloggers (or honored with other fabulous awards), these are blogs I read because I like them.

  1. An Attempt at Humor
  2. The Big Sheep Blog
  3. Bitch Yourself Thin
  4. Hyperactive Inefficiency
  5. I’m on the bandwagon
  6. It Happens Every Day
  7. k8edid
  8. Kindness Girl
  9. Midsummer Dreams and Winter Tales
  10. Not Quite Old
  11. Puns Probably Intended
  12. Ramblings and Rumblings
  13. Tales from the Mom-Side
  14. The Valentine 4: Living Each Day
  15. Young American Wisdom

And now for 7 things about me:

  1. I once appeared in a small ad in the back of Vogue magazine, modeling…wigs.
  2. I have two middle names. If you count the name I took at my Catholic confirmation (I don’t), I have three.
  3. I love this song.
  4. Political anger exhausts and demoralizes me (and doesn’t help ANYTHING).
  5. On the rare occasion I am in a video arcade without my children, I LOVE playing House of the Dead. You shoot zombies and monsters before they can kill you. I think this is a perfectly healthy way to satisfy my latent bloodlust.
  6. In college, I majored in accounting to please my parents and ran screaming from the profession within a year to graduate school for a master’s in English.
  7. I get most of my news from Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me.

Care to share some trivia about yourself?

This entry was posted in Why am I doing this again? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Stop it, I’m blushing!

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    I’m fascinated – a genuine Catholic zombie-shooting wig model – you just don’t run into people like that very often. A sincere thank you for the award and I’m psyched to be on your blogroll!!

  2. Gilly says:

    Love your blog! And congrats on the award! Also, I’m so jealous you were a Vogue magazine wig model!!!

  3. kaliesthoughts says:

    congrats on the award

  4. Thank you!!! And congratulations! How does one become a wig model? Was there other modeling involved that led up to wig modeling? Or was it one of those random things like, “Okay, I’m going to apply to be a wig model, today. Wish me luck!” Forgive me, but these kinds of things fascinate me. I’m genuinely curious.

    • I went to school with a girl whose parents sold high-end wigs in NYC. They needed cheap models and asked me to do a one-day photo shoot for $100, which was way more money than I had ever made at one time! The picture looks kind of silly. I need to figure out how to scan it and post it here so you can have a chuckle.

  5. Congratulations! And, thank you so much for the mention…it’s appreciated. When I grow-up I want to be a wig model! 🙂

  6. Muff says:

    I am one of those dog people, you know the kid…rather be with dogs than people at times?
    I really do think chemistry is fun.
    I think that is more than enough sharing. You and your readers clearly know I am borderline unstable…

  7. Muff says:

    Sorry. One more.

    I told you that I like to parody songs, and hope someday to open a Parody Song Agency with a collaborating friend? I promised you one on Bravery.

    With apologies to the Beetles, and sung to Yesterday

    Bravery
    I can feel it sweeping over me
    No more Bean Counter life for me
    For I’ve succumbed to bravery.

    Suddenly
    I am banging on a tambourine
    Out belly dancing for the world to see
    That I believe in bravery

    Acting improv
    It’s all about spontaneous activity
    Up here on the stage
    I will show you bravery

    Bravery
    No telling where it might be leading me
    Perhaps you’ll soon see me on your TV
    It’s all because of bravery!

  8. Sharon says:

    You’re nice to me.

  9. I also get most of my news from “Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me!” My daughter just lost her iPod & is borrowing mine, and she noticed that rather than music, it’s filled with this show. I love hearing celebrities playing for contestants, particularly when Jason Bateman had to sneak into his daughter’s room during the interview because it was the only quiet room in the house. When asked if his daughter was also in her room, he jokingly told the audience, “I shoved my boot in her butt and told her to get the hell out.” Congrats on The Versatile Blogger Award!

  10. Doc says:

    Our favorite around here is Paula Poundstone. Because of NPR we went to see her show- which has absolutely nothing to do with your post or your award. But as a new reader I’m glad to say I remember you when- even if when was only several hours before you accepted (or aknowledged) the award.

  11. Lisa Wields Words says:

    I get most of my news from Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me as well. It’s the only way I can tolerate my news.

Leave a Reply

