Not a proud moment

The other day, I admitted to lax money management and asked anyone who sees me approaching a restaurant to send me home at once.

Yet the very next day, we (along with some friends) ordered takeout for dinner. Why? I don’t know!

Like addicts, we found a way to justify our habit. Since we were eating restaurant food at home, we wouldn’t waste $15 per child for a Shirley Temple and a bowl of pasta with butter. Also, the grownups wouldn’t have a bar bill. So really, we couldn’t afford NOT to do takeout.

There is something wrong with me. I know this.

But the burritos were REALLY good.

This entry was posted in Crazy mom confessions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not a proud moment

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Habits are hard to break. At least you took a baby step and did takeout instead of eating at the restaurant. Man, you’re tough on yourself!

  2. notquiteold says:

    I can’t make a good burrito. Reason enough.

  3. Gilly says:

    Takeout is like sugar — once you start, it gets in your bloodstream and it is difficult to quit!! For the majority of my 6 years of marriage, my cooking days have consisted of ordering takeout. I was soooo good at it! I’m just starting to cook now. It is fun and satisfying to prepare a meal, but when those plates and pots are piled up after dinner, home-cooking loses its shine.

    I agree with bigsheepcommunications, don’t be so tough on yourself!

  4. Thanks to you all for making me feel better. Enablers. 😉

  5. We all have something hunny. Be happy it is takeout 🙂

  6. Muff says:

    Look, it’s not the 1950’s and 60’s anymore. No one is perfect. I am quite certain that your getting some takeout will not detract from rainy day funds. Do all these things gradually. Set a course for a direction and get yourself there eventually. Life isn’t digital my friend…you can’t be just one thing or another…

    • I love that you approve of my poor fiscal habits. 🙂 I hear you. The thing is, we probably ate more dinners out this summer than in. Maybe it doesn’t need to stop, but it needs to slow way down.

  7. I’m a take-out addict, so I’m not the one to provide solace, here. But still. Sharing a few laughs with friends over good food you didn’t have to cook? What could be wrong with that?

  8. Who can pass on a good burritto? Not me!

Leave a Reply

