Eyes open, wallet closed

In our household, the tasks of balancing the checkbook and paying bills fall to me. Just worked out that way, which is a nicer way to say that my husband never balanced a checkbook in his life.

Managing our money feels like a game of Red Light, Green Light. When I watch it, our money stays put. Our spending is reasonable and I am comfortable with our savings. When I look away, the money runs like mad out the door.

A few months ago, partly because I was busy and partly because paperwork is soooo tedious, I stopped paying attention to our money. And boy, does it show.

We’ve paid our bills (I have not been completely negligent), but when we planned our summer vacation, instead of looking to see what we could afford, we just sort of went for it. Ditto with a few home improvement projects.

As the months passed, and our spending increased, avoiding our financial picture became something I did out of fear. I didn’t want to know how much we had spent, so I didn’t look. And I didn’t look. And oh, look over there at that thing we want to buy!

Yesterday, I looked. What I saw depressed me. We can still pay our mortgage (and for that I have thanked my lucky stars daily for the past three years), but our savings have dwindled. If you knew how much money we spent in restaurants this summer, you’d think we don’t have a kitchen.

Anyway, it’s good that my eyes are open again, even if I don’t like what I see. And if you happen to see me walking toward a restaurant, please tell me to go home and make a sandwich.

This entry was posted in Telling the truth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Eyes open, wallet closed

  1. Awww, you gotta have a little fun!

  2. We have summers like that. Every couple of years I turn my head and stop watching – on purpose – and sort of take a vacation from worrying about it. We spend a lot more on takeout, do a few more expensive family activities, throw in a big holiday or a major renovation… And then spend the next few months being really, really careful with our spending. I know it’s a bad “plan”, but I seem to develop temporary selective amnesia when it gets warm outside.

  3. Lyn says:

    I will try not to lure you into pub 25!

  4. Jodie says:

    I hear ya, I’m the same way, to bad we can’t tame it so that it stays put instead of running a muck every time we turn out back. lol

  5. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Will send a costco sized jar of peanut butter and a gargantuan loaf of bread out to you ASAP.

  6. I love your blog, and named you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is outlined on my blog. Thanks for all of the smiles you give me!

  7. Pingback: Not a proud moment | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

