One is the loneliest number (if you worry about that kind of thing)

Last night, I had planned to go to another improv class, the idea of which still gives me butterflies. But I was tired and went to see Rise of the Planet of the Apes instead.

It was great. Great to see a grownup movie for a change, great that it was sci-fi (which never seems to be the first choice for my steady date), and great to do what I felt like doing just because I felt like doing it.

Also, I loved hearing Draco Malfoy say, “Take your stinking paws off me, you damn dirty ape!” It’s the little things.

The only brave thing about it is that I went alone; my husband is away and none of the friends I called could make it at the last minute. One or two friends (including some of the ones I called) will cringe when they read that. Wasn’t that depressing? Weren’t you embarrassed?

No. Like I need to be embarrassed in front of the ticket clerk who said, “One? Just one?” Like he is living the dream.

I would have rather had company, of course. But I wouldn’t let the lack of it keep me home, especially with a babysitter lined up! Since going alone didn’t worry me, it wasn’t really brave. But it’s what came closest yesterday.

This post is starting to feel like an ABC After-school Special for people who are old enough to know what that is. Too much moral and not enough story. O well.

This entry was posted in Looking foolish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One is the loneliest number (if you worry about that kind of thing)

  1. I love going to the movies by myself! This line in your post cracked me up: “Like I need to be embarrassed in front of the ticket clerk who said, “One? Just one?” Like he is living the dream.” LOVE That! I feel the same way about waiters when I eat out on my own. Bitch, please.

  2. Gilly says:

    You rock! It sounds silly but I have always wanted to do that — just me in the theatre with a bucket of popcorn. But, I don’t really like movies, so I only go when my husband drags me. But I know there will come a movie that will be just right for my goin’ solo to the theatre dream! Again, go you! For many that is very brave!

  3. bigsheepcommunications says:

    I don’t mind that kind of alone time at all. You know, you breezed right over the whole improv class thing — if I remember correctly, you’re also doing voiceover and tap dancing. Now I’m wondering what else you’re doing – are you holding out on us? Will we be seeing you on Dancing with the Stars, American Idol, the Real Housewives of Wherever It Is You Live??

    • I fear I may have set unrealistic expectations about my abilities. No television appearance planned at present. And yes, alone time is lovely, but strangely judgable in some circles. the haters are missing out.

  4. notquiteold says:

    Going anywhere alone is tough, but at least at the movies, it gets dark. When I had to travel a lot for work, restaurants were the scariest. I’d get Chinese takeout and eat it in my room. Except for Vegas- everyone is alone there, even when they are with someone.

  5. I love going to movies by myself. It sounds so selfish, but on my own I don’t have to share my popcorn, or wait for my date to get in his seat, find his snacks and otherwise drive me crazy (I love my husband, but he does NOTHING quickly). I’ve been to the ballet, the symphony and the theatre all by myself. There are always awesome front-row seats available for singles. My husband is not exactly a patron of the arts, so it’s kind of a win-win.

  6. Susan Child says:

    I love going to the movie by myself because I HATE the after movie discussion. Can’t I just enjoy a move with out reviewing it. Yes, when I’m by my self. *:)

  7. workmomad says:

    Eating alone isn’t too bad. I read somewhere that if you want to appear confident about eating alone, bring a book and read. (I do that anyhow; my lunch hour is one of the few times I have to do that, since my other meals are not alone.) If you want to appear SUPER confident, bring a notebook and pen and act like you are a restaurant critic reviewing establishment. That will make THEM nervous!

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

