Too pitchy (dawg)

I had another voiceover class yesterday. No funny stories to share, but I’m proud to say I put myself out there for much critiquing.

The teacher used phrases like “not so much music,” which means limiting fluctuations in your pitch. (We were pitchy, apparently.) Also, “retail heavy lifting,” which means using the corny, hard-sell voice you hear in commercials for local car dealerships and as-seen-on-TV products. We also talked about maintaining the same volume when you vary your pitch, which is harder than it sounds.

The biggest lesson? I need to devote more time to this if I ever want to accomplish anything. I can never seem to find the time.

I blame the children and their ceaseless demands for food, clean clothes and Harry Potter read-alouds. Kids today.

In other news: Kayla Watch, Day 4. Another claw bites the dust.

This entry was posted in Crazy mom confessions, Trying something new and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Too pitchy (dawg)

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Voiceover and tap dancing – you’re a woman of many talents!

  2. notquiteold says:

    I think you may want to look for a career where you can do both at the same time.

  3. workmomad says:

    Yes, those darn kids do insist on being fed at regular intervals! Before I had children, I didn’t quite understand the frequency of those intervals – we took our nephew to the Huntsville Rocket Center once, and he told his mom later that he had a great time, but we “only” fed him three times a day. Now that I have a child of my own, I understand – she gets breakfast at home, second breakfast at before school care (sometimes), third breakfast at school, lunch, first snack at school, second snack at day care, third snack (sometimes) at home, dinner and then (sometimes) dessert!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

Leave a Reply

