The squeaky wheel gets the discount

Never let it be said that doing this blog doesn’t pay.

Yesterday, the girls and I went back-to-school shopping at the mall, as did the rest of our country (or so it seemed). If you believe the stereotype, women LOVE shopping. I do not. I find it exhausting and disorienting. I shop only when I have to and only until I can’t take it anymore.

So when I hit my limit yesterday, I grabbed our pile of nontrampy clothes (it’s sad how much trampy clothing is marketed to 7 and 9-year-olds) and headed for the cashier. I guess I hadn’t fully comprehended the extent of our rabid consumerism, because the register total surprised me – about $550. Yikes!

Now, I knew that if I were to buy this stuff the following day (which, with my schedule, would have been difficult, but not impossible), I could use a coupon and save some money. But our stuff had already been rung up.

Amy, the cashier, was waiting for my credit card. Another beleaguered parent was waiting in line behind me. Sarah was trying to talk me into buying perfume that smelled like candy.

Only a pain in the ass would ask her to void the transaction and put our stuff on hold until the next day. But I asked anyway.

Here’s where it really pays off. Amy didn’t feel like voiding the transaction, so she gave me the discount right then and saved me more than $200 and another trip to the mall!

So sometimes being a pain in the ass  the squeaky wheel  brave pays.

In other news, Kayla lost another claw. I told Gracie she probably won’t make it. She wants a second opinion.

This entry was posted in Crazy mom confessions, Standing up and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The squeaky wheel gets the discount

  1. my mom would do the same thing!

  2. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Very smart move! Trust me, you are not alone in how you feel about shopping. I hate it, hate it, hate it.

  3. notquiteold says:

    That’s an amazing discount! One thing I learned from watching my “loves-to-haggle” husband is to always ask. Sometimes they say yes!

  4. Jodie says:

    Negotiation 101: It never hurts to ask. 🙂 Btw I hate shopping also. 🙂

  5. Hooray for YOU! I hate shopping. Like, HATE it. As in, given the choice between braving the mall and cleaning out the drum composter with my fingernails and an infant face-cloth, the composter wins hands-down. I think it’s fantastic that you had the stones to ask for the discount you deserved. Well done!

  6. workmomad says:

    Good for you! I don’t think I would have had the courage to do it.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

Leave a Reply

