A moment of cowardice

Kayla is not happy in her new home. After only a month, our hermit crab has decided to do whatever it takes to escape, even if it means leaving one piece at a time. One of her claws fell off. I am not joking.

When my girls discovered the fruits of Kayla’s new weight loss program, they were somewhat concerned.

Sarah: Aaaaggghhh!!

Grace: Mom, something bit Kayla’s claw off!!

Me: What?!

Grace: It’s on the bottom of the cage!

Sarah: Aaaaggghhh!

Me: Let me see…oh…huh.

Grace: Can she grow another one?

Sarah: Can we put it back on?

Grace: Is she dying?

Me: Um…she’s…molting. Yes. Nothing to worry about.

Then I made a beeline for the wine bottle, and they spent what seemed like a long time trying to get her to move.

Should I have told them the truth? Yes. Am I a big fat wimp for giving them false hope? Yes. Told you I was a chicken. I had to remove the claw myself. Yuck.

Kayla did move eventually, but I think she is not long for this world.

This entry was posted in Heebie-jeebies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A moment of cowardice

  1. notquiteold says:

    Ugh….what happens next?

    • I am guessing I move the cage so that they don’t see it automatically every morning, and then when they have forgotten about Kayla somewhat, I get rid of her? Or I man up and tell them she is dead. Can’t decide.

  2. Amanda says:

    Be brave Dory, BE BRAVE!

  3. notquiteold says:

    Years ago, my brother had a gerbil that came to a very bad end. My mother told my brother that she accidentally left the door open when she cleaned the cage and that Gerbil ran away.

  4. Jonathan says:

    I’m sorry for the poor crab… but it makes for a wonderful story!

    Now I have to share. I have two cockatiels and one day within the first year we had a shocking experience. Artoo (the little boy) was walking in the floor on the kitchen. My wife took a step and we heard a screech! We looked down and all we saw was a pile of feathers!

    We honestly thought that she had crushed him to death. But when we looked closer we realized that they were all tail feathers. We looked around and found Artoo about 10 feet away under the kitchen table, tailless. He looked like a little duck without his tail and was having a hard time balancing. Apparently my wife stepped on his tail and somehow he released his feathers. They grew back after a couple of months, but I’ll never forget seeing those feathers on the ground.

  5. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Think of this as a mini lesson in mortality for your girls – a little sad probably, but not too heart wrenching. As for removing the claw – ick.

  6. Susan Child says:

    My niece had a goldfish. When she was 5 it was floating at the top of the tank.

    Niece: It’s dead.
    My sis: No, it resting. (thinking she could get another while my niece was at school.)
    Niece: No, it’s dead. I saw on Mr Rodgers, they float when they die.

    They can handle it. *:)

  7. Muff says:

    You have to go with the truth path. Later when they figure out you weren’t straight with them about it, they become skeptical of everything. Just tell them that crabs don’t live long, and that you are sure that she was VERY happy to have had such a good home during her lifetime.

    You may get some tears, but they will survive just fine. As will you by the way.

    Hermit crabs smell awful when they die. You’ll know…

  8. Good advice, my friend. I think she is still hanging on. No smell yet, although she did lose another claw. Was it something I said??

  9. We don’t have hermit crabs, but my daughter has a saltwater fishtank in her room for Doug the clownfish (she found Finding Nemo terrifying). There are some blue-legged crabs living in there, too, to help keep Doug’s mess under control. They tend to leave bits of themselves around the bottom of the tank, but don’t seem to reduce in number. Doug’s tankmate, Rupert, died last summer. Unfortunately, my daughter discovered him and left me no room to sugarcoat the situation. It was probably better for her, that way, but much more difficult for me!

  10. workmomad says:

    I completely understand about the drama; we get it here with my 9 1/2 year old daughter, too. I think you will find though that after the first drama shock they will take it in stride. My daughter was very upset when our second dog (the oldest one she had known since we adopted her) died, but handled it remarkably well, all things considered.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

  11. Pingback: Miscellany | If I Were Brave

  12. Pingback: The crab is dead. Long live the dogs. | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

