I will not be moved. Or put to sleep.

I had forgotten the cutthroat dynamics of jockeying for position in exercise classrooms. It is move or be moved. Assertive people take the space they want from meek people who let them have it. Okay, maybe that was just my experience.

In the old days when someone moved in on my territory, I slunk away, even if it meant moving to the dreaded front of the room. Well, there is a new sheriff in town.

I took another Zumba® class, this time at my sister’s gym. We arrived early and took up position at the back of the room (of course). The class wasn’t crowded, but a latecomer decided that the perfect spot for her was 12 inches to my right. Not in front of me, where there were yards of open space, but right next to me. I almost moved, but then I thought: Why should I? I got here first. There is plenty of room, so why does she have to be close enough to hear me breathe?

I held my ground.

I have to hand it to her though. Staying that close to me during Zumba® is itself an act of bravery. I have long arms that don’t always telegraph their movements. A person could lose an eye.

Later, in a restaurant, after eating the calories I burned during Zumba® (and then some), I ordered tea. That isn’t the brave part. The brave part is when I politely refused what I was offered. The waitress had brought me sleepy herbal teas when I wanted something with flavor and caffeine. Usually, reluctant to trouble anyone, I just take what I am offered. Instead I asked her to look in the kitchen for something else, please.

Not exactly bad-ass, but still…progress.

This entry was posted in Standing up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I will not be moved. Or put to sleep.

  1. notquiteold says:

    You can be bad-ass when you order tea!

  2. Muff says:

    Good for you! If anyone tried to move me they would hurt themselves…see, I’ve gained a few pounds and moving me may be difficult! It’s a good strategy, no?

    Proud of you. Drink the tea you want!

  3. Good for you! This thing where we don’t want to put people to too much trouble is something you and I have in common, I think. Holding your ground and asking for what you really want are HUGE, you bad-ass you! I’m not sure I would have had the stones to do it 🙂

  4. Cynthia says:

    I applaud you for not moving in the exercise class! And I know exactly what you’re talking about, unfortunately. It’s like your seat in school, once there it will forever be your seat for the remainder of class. Why do we do this?!

Leave a Reply

