The wages of vodka is feathers

It started out as a dare from my children and ended with me trolling feather extension websites over a glass of bubble vodka and tonic. Let me explain.

Today my friend and I went to get our 7 and 9-year-old girls feather extensions for their hair. With three weeks of summer left, we are running out of rainy day ideas.

Our girls dared us to get extensions too. Mostly because I thought it would be a good exercise in not caring whether others think I look foolish, I said ok.

I don’t dress like my teenage babysitter. I dress my age. So I had doubts about the whole thing, until they brought out the tray of feathers. That’s when something…shifted. Our girls picked their feathers almost immediately, but my friend and I spent a LOOONG time looking for just the right one.

Once they were installed, we spent some quality time with the mirror, figuring out how to arrange our hair for maximum feather visibility.

I really was this happy about the feather.

At our next stop, the town library, we took pictures of each other and texted them to my friend’s sister. In the children’s library. Are you embarrassed for us yet?

A closeup of the feather - you know you want to see it.

By the time we had dinner and a couple of drinks, we decided that our little feathers weren’t noticeable enough and went online to find more.  Between the two of us, we spent $87 on feathers and tools to install them.

We are unreasonably excited.

So I guess the feather extension doesn’t count as something brave after all. It is more like the launch of a midlife crisis that has been a long time coming.

This entry was posted in Crazy mom confessions, Looking foolish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The wages of vodka is feathers

  1. Molly says:

    You truly cannot post this without photos. Truly. Pay up, sugar. We wanna see this.

  2. I did, I swear. But for some reason they didn’t show up. I reinserted them and I think you can see them now.

  3. deborah says:

    I love this! You know Woody Allen said “hope is the thing with feathers.” Enjoy yours!

  4. lyn says:

    Dude, we ordered $87 in feathers and tools?!?! I don’t quite remember that part. I must start looking into buying a Trans Am next to make the midlife crisis complete!

  5. Pingback: Who wants pancakes? | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

