Good luck bullying the next guy!

To the lady who knocked on my car window to demand my parking spot,

Congratulations on being the center of the universe! I hadn’t heard about your promotion or else I would have shot out of the parking space without waiting for my children to buckle up. Kids today – they are so spoiled! I feel sick when I think of the precious seconds I shaved off your shopping trip.

And I am sorry I didn’t respond to your knock with the apology you were hoping for.  I realize now that when you said, “My husband is behind you and he is waiting for this spot,” I should have groveled for forgiveness instead of saying “You don’t say!” with a smile.

I further acknowledge that you had every right to be confused when I continued to smile at you, making no move to put my car in reverse. It was wrong of me to make you doubt your own righteousness. We lesser folks sometimes have a hard time recognizing when we are in the way. I guess that is just one of the many crosses you have to bear.

However, I would like to point out that I did NOT say (as I dearly wished to): “Better scurry on back now; reverse isn’t my best gear and I’d hate to ruin your pedicure.” You must admit: that showed a soupcon of deference.

Have a great day, and good luck bullying the next guy!

Hugs and kisses,

Dory

This entry was posted in Standing up and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good luck bullying the next guy!

  1. Elaine Damerau Swanson says:

    My favorite saying lately is “It’s not all about you… (then in dripping sarcasm) Don’t you know who I am?” I suppose it is because of the self centered people in our world, such a pitty for them, must be hard to live like that 🙂 Oh, and YOU GO GIRL!

  2. Donna says:

    Oh I do love this! I shop at the Garden State Plaza where you are practically stalked for your parking space. I have actually had two cars via for my space, one idiot having come the wrong way down a one way parking bay, while blocking me in at the same time. And when did it become my responsibility to transfer my space to another shopper? Take it easy people, you’ll get inside!

  3. gretchen hancock says:

    YOU ARE KIDDING ME. What happened to civility?

Leave a Reply

