Breathe in! Breathe out! Now relax!!

In the spirit of trying something new, I took a voiceover class at Edge Studio last night. I loved it.

Our wonderful instructor, Randye Kaye, led us through exercises to illustrate the different choices you can make regarding tone, pitch and so forth. For example, try saying the following line out loud as directed:

(soft tone of a guided meditation)
Breathe in. Breathe out. And again. Now relax your body.

Easy, right?

(strong tone of an ESPN promo)
Breathe in! Breathe out! And again! Now relax your body!

Feel silly yet?

(nonchalant tone of a commercial)
Breathe in. Breathe out. And again. Now relax your body.

OK, not so bad.

(friendly and inviting tone of an audio tour)
Breathe in. Breathe out. And again. Now relax your body.

Wait, how is that different from the commercial?

Randye suggested using gestures when we spoke, which felt so stupid, but really did help us sound genuine. There we were: grinning like fools, eyes wide open, punching our hands in the air, shouting “It’s Major League Baseball like you’ve never seen before!” Should have gotten video.

Afterward, I got to record copy for a peanut butter commercial and narration for an earthquake documentary in a real live recording booth. Randye said I take direction very well.

Randye: Imagine another mom just bragged about her kids eating broccoli every day. How would that change the way you talk about your kids eating peanut butter?

Me: Um…

I really enjoyed it, and not just because Randye was so encouraging about my prospects. She suggested I continue training and make a demo. Pricetag? About $1,700. It does not escape my attention that Edge Studio sells these services, so I would write my check to them if I proceed.

However, Edge does have a good reputation. I think I will trust them. Maybe. (Does this feel like that moment in horror movies when the stupid heroine investigates the strange noise? Are you crying out, “Nooooooooo!”)

I am nervous about it, too, for several reasons. First, $1,700 is a lot of money. Second, who do I think I amSigourney Weaver? And third, time. I already have a full plate with my family, paying writing work, this blog, and ignoring housework.

On the other hand, it is something completely different, which is appealing. Also, it is a risk, and I never take risks. While I don’t expect to make big bucks, there seem to be a number of low-profile opportunities to make back the investment and then some. Plus when I was in the recording booth, it was…fun. Finally: If I were brave and admit to what I really think…I think I could be good at it.

I don’t know. My husband is not thrilled with the idea of spending the money. Can’t say I blame him. I wish I could end this post with a decision, but I think I’ll have to sit with this one awhile.

This entry was posted in Failure fear, Trying something new and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breathe in! Breathe out! Now relax!!

  1. Pingback: $1,700 is only $4.66 a day (over a year) | If I Were Brave

  2. Pingback: Croaking through voiceover class | If I Were Brave

  3. Pingback: Playing hooky | If I Were Brave

  4. Pingback: Never give up. Never surrender…except maybe this once | If I Were Brave

Leave a Reply

